Romanian Military History Forum - Part of Romanian Army in the Second World War Website

Pages: (10) [1] 2 3 ... Last »  ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> How good is the TR 85-M1 tank?
Radu
Posted: August 10, 2004 12:54 am
Quote Post

Soldat

Group: Members
Member No.: 152

I'm not an expert myself however I have read some interesting critiques to the tank.

The TR85M1 is a modernized TR85 which in turn is a modified T55. It has 50t and a 860hp engine which gives it only 17hp/t which in comparison with other tanks is really weak (T80U-27,5CP/t,M1A1Abbrams 22Cp/t)
)

Yeah it was advertised as the best tank with a 100mm cannon however an efficient tank cannon has 120-5mm, something all competitive tanks have these days ( the new T-95 Russian tank has 156mm)

It has no active or passive anti-missile defense system except for the old smoke grenades, nor does it have a laser detection system.

The best part of the tank is the targeting system which is just decent.

A better idea would have been to upgrade the TR-125's, which the Romanian version of the T-72 and a bit better actually (armor wise).

The only good thing about it is the price, about a million to upgrade (T80U1 costs 3 mil.), however the export value is virtually 0 since no country has TR85's.

I know that Romania exported some TR85's to Iraq during the Iran/Iraq war. Do any of you guys know how the tank performed in combat? Were any lessons learned? Does the TR85M1 tank have redeeming qualities or does it belong in the trash pile?
PM
mabadesc
Posted: August 10, 2004 05:53 pm
Quote Post

Locotenent colonel

Member No.: 40

Good topic, Radu.

I would be interested to know how Romanian tanks compare to other tanks in the world today.

Also, if anyone knows what tanks Hungary and Bulgaria use (since they're neighbors of Romania), please reply.

Thanks,

Mihai.
PM
dragos03
Posted: August 10, 2004 06:59 pm
Quote Post

Capitan

Member No.: 163